Musical Arts

CONCERT SERIES 2024-2025

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

American Voices

USA Symphony Band Robert D. Abend, conductor

USA Wind Ensemble William H. Petersen, conductor

Midwestern Suite (2020)

Prairie

Storm

Sunset

Star Ship (2003)

Yukiko Nishimura (b. 1967)

Andrew Boysen, Jr. (b. 1968)

Tom Davoren (b. 1986)

Symphony No. 4 (2006)

Fast

Smooth and Flowing Scherzo and Trio

Fast

USA Symphony Band

Variations on "America" (1891/1949/1964)

Charles Ives (1874-1954)

transcribed for band by William E. Rhoads

based on the orchestra version by William Schuman

Jug Blues and Fat Pickin' (1986)

Don Freund (b. 1947)

"Second Prelude" from *Three Preludes* (1927)

George Gershwin (1898-1937)

arranged by John Krance

Robert D. Abend, guest conductor

The Low-Down Brown Get-Down (2020)

Omar Thomas (b. 1984)

USA Wind Ensemble

The Fifth Concert of Academic Year 2024-2025

Tuesday, October 1, 2024 7:30 p.m.

Laidlaw Recital Hall concert piano tunings are provided by

USA Symphony Band Personnel – Robert D. Abend, conductor

Flute Trinity Mays * Ella Criswell Rachel Mason Jordan Parker Addi Ward

Oboe

Rebecca Guthrie *
Nova Murphy
Tenya Brown

Bassoon

Jaishon Robinson

Clarinet

Shannon Kille *
Victoria Marks
Christopher Hamm
Aiden McCain
Eri Coulson
Annalise Philen
Reefah Rahman

Bass Clarinet
Gabe Clark

Alto Saxophone
Sam Hamner *

Gabrielle Roberts Garrett Van den Bosch

Tenor Saxophone Preston Harper

Baritone Saxophone

Wyndal Mosley

Trumpet
Zach Nelson *
Matt Owens
Hayden Bobe
Elizabeth Snow
Nate Poage
Tate Williams
Desmond Foster

Horn

Everett Salter *
Mason Ledbetter
Makaria McGriff

* denotes principal

Trombone
Marshall Waites *
Nathan Sansom
Jeff Ward
Michael Badger
Rachel Myers
Jason Fluker
Morgan Davis

Bass Trombone Robbie Kan Dakota Ingram

Euphonium Malory Stanley * Sean Cabral Wesley Grant

Tuba

Mark Sayler *
James Barr

Josue Mendoza Torres

Aidan Bullard Evan Mercer

Percussion
Elias Jones *
Myles Course
Luke Michael
Joshua Ryland
Willie Floyd

USA Wind Ensemble Personnel - William H. Petersen, conductor

Flute
Katie Wallace *
Elizabeth Courtney
Jaishon Robinson
Sarah Harlin
Mia Jalkh

Oboe

Evalynn Kluck *

Bassoon

Maeve Rodriguez *

Clarinet

Andrew Covelli *
Duyen Tran
Kaylah Orso
Emma Bumpers
Caleb Morrison
Gabe Clark
Elaina Olewnik

Bass Clarinet Christopher Hamm Alto Saxophone

Wyndal Mosley *
Elizabeth Faust

Tenor Saxophone Tristen Bodiford

Baritone SaxophoneGreg Weatherly

Trumpet

Andrew McKinley * Elizabeth Lajnef Jaleel Hughes Jared Freeman Ryan Perry

Horn

Mason Ledbetter *
Noah Sugg
Joshua Lightner
William Stoll

denotes principal

Trombone

Jon Grayson Kerr * Kayin Hardy Andrew Vo

Bass Trombone Harrison Howell

Euphonium

Mark Sayler * Hunter Brown

Tuba

Drake Miller *
Joseph White
Javier Fernandez

Percussion

Tyler Scott *
Simeon Tanner
Ryan Wright
Nathan Slater
Jamie Clark
Collin Westland
Myles Course

Keyboard

Alexandra Harvey